The Orphic Hymn to Artemis

As part of my project to record some of my favourite ancient texts in the original language and pronunciation, today I am sharing with you the Orphic Hymn to Artemis.

After the Hymn to Hypnos, the Hymn to Artemis was the second Orphic text I learnt. I still have a video of me reciting it at the top of a mountain, my voice half-covered by the wind, the few words that can be heard spoken in a hesitant French accent. I was still a baby Hellenic polytheist then – I had just committed to it four months earlier. I hardly knew with what words I was invoking my Goddess.

Since recording that video, I have gained a much better understanding of Artemis and her Hymn – and what a beautiful hymn it is! I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I did reciting it.

 

About Artemisia

A Hellenic polytheist lighting stars in the sky and skipping stones across the Styx.
This entry was posted in Ancient Greece, Hellenismos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Orphic Hymn to Artemis

Leave a Reply

