The Orphic Hymn to Hypnos in Ancient Greek

When I committed to following the Gods back in early 2014, one of the first things I did was learn the Orphic hymns. I needed a devotional activity that I could do every day, but that didn’t require much time, and that led me to learning the Hymn to Hypnos and reciting it every night. It’s now been almost two years and I’ve hardly missed an evening. Though I’ve struggled with sleep all my life, the Hymn calms me and helps me to let go and lie down in the arms of Hypnos.

After I posted a recording of the Odyssey in reconstructed Ancient Greek pronunciation last year, someone commented that it would be nicer without the background music. That got me thinking. There are very few recordings out there with a simple, raw presentation, the way a Hellenic polytheist would speak the words to the Gods – in fact, there are hardly any recordings done by Hellenic polytheists, and those that exist are in modern Greek pronunciation. It’s a shame, because hymns hold an important role in our religion.

So I decided to fix that. I’m no linguist, but I have been learning Ancient Greek for four and a half years and am currently studying it at university, where we use reconstructed Ancient Greek pronunciation. And so, for a start, I decided to record my much-loved Orphic Hymn to Hypnos.

My pronunciation isn’t perfect, and I may have forgotten an iota subscript here or there, but I did my best. Let me know if you have any requests for further recordings! 🙂

About Artemisia

A Hellenic polytheist lighting stars in the sky and skipping stones across the Styx.
This entry was posted in Ancient Greece, Hellenismos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Orphic Hymn to Hypnos in Ancient Greek

  1. Jessica says:

    Awesome! I love the Orphic Hymns. In college I took a World Religions class and my final research was on the Orphic Hymns. It was years ago but the ones that I had to research have stayed with me.

Leave a Reply

